Skip to main content

9h00 – 12h00

Parallel on-line workshops with industry and stakeholders

13h00 – 17h00

Plenary session

13h00 – 15h00

European Tourism ecosystem of tomorrow

13h00 – 13h10

Welcome statement by Commissioner Thierry Breton

13h10 – 14h00

Panel discussion on European Tourism ecosystem of tomorrow: Challenges and Opportunities

  • Adina Vălean, European Commissioner for Transport (video message)
  • Ralf Pastleitner, Director International Public Policy & EU Affairs/Head of the TUI Group Corporate Office EU, TUI GROUP
  • Victor Everhardt, Deputy Mayor of Amsterdam
  • Naren Shaam, Founder and CEO of Omio

“What is for you the European Tourism ecosystem of tomorrow?” - fireside chat with professor Dimitrios Buhalis 

14h00 – 14h20

1. European Tourism ecosystem of tomorrow - Safe and seamless tourism experience

  • “Change in practice” video message showcasing practical solutions and examples of adaptation for increasing safety and improving tourism experience
  • Reporting from the workshop on “Safe and seamless tourism experience”, Eduardo Santander, CEO of European Travel Commission
  • Moderated debate: “Safe and seamless tourism experience – challenge for my business”
    Sébastien Bazin, CEO of ACCOR & Niclas Mårtensson, CEO of Stena Line

14h20 – 14h35

2. European Tourism ecosystem of tomorrow – Greener holidays

  • “Tourism and Green Deal” video message from NGOs
  • Reporting from the workshop on “Greener holidays”, Marie Audren, Director General of HOTREC
  • Moderated debate: “Greener holidays: how to get there?”
    Anne Larilahti, Vice President, Sustainability at Finnair & Savvas Perdios, Deputy Minister of Tourism of Cyprus

14h35 – 14h50

3. European Tourism ecosystem of tomorrow - Tourism powered by data

  • Reporting from the workshop on “Tourism powered by data”, Enrico Mayrhofer, Head of Region of Tuscany EU Liaison Office and NESCTouR
  • Moderated debate: “Data for the tourism destination of the future”
    Bart Rosseau, Head of department, City of Ghent: & Patrick Robinson, Director Public Policy, EMEA at Airbnb

14h50 – 15h00

Voice of the people

  • “Travellers of the future” video message - views of young travellers
  • “Tourism improving communities” video message from local communities

15h00 – 16h00

Investing in the European tourism ecosystem of tomorrow

15h00 – 15h35

Panel discussion ‘Investing in the European tourism ecosystem of tomorrow’

  • Message from Zurab Pololikashvili, Secretary General of UNWTO (video message)
  • Elisa Ferreira, European Commissioner for Cohesion and Reforms (video message)
  • Dr. Kirsten Scholl, Director-General for European Policies in the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy
    Glenn Fogel, CEO at
  • Manuel Alejandro Cardenete Flores, Deputy Minister at Regional Government of Junta de Andalucia; Committee of the Regions

15h35 – 15h55

Fireside chats ‘Investing in the European tourism ecosystem of tomorrow’: views of tourism stakeholders and EU Member States

  • Video message from tourism workers, unions and employers
  • Fireside chat with Yiannis Retsos, President of SETE
  • Video message from the industry segments of the tourism ecosystem
  • Fireside chat with Gabriel Escarrer, President of EXCELTUR

15h55 – 16h10

Views of EU Member States

  • Video messages from Dario Franceschini, Italian Minister for Cultural Heritage and Activities and Tourism; Raul Siem, Estonian Minister of Foreign Trade and Information Technology; and María Reyes Maroto, Spanish Minister of Industry, Trade and Tourism
  • Fireside chat with Elisabeth Köstinger, Austrian Federal Minister for Agriculture, Regions and Tourism

16h10 – 17h00

Sustainable recovery and European Agenda of Tourism 2050

16h10 – 16h50

Panel discussion: Sustainable recovery and European Agenda of Tourism 2050

  • European cooperation in tourism – video messages from Nikolina Brnjac, Croatian Minister of Tourism and Sports; and Jean-Baptiste Lemoyne, State secretary in charge of tourism in the French Ministry for Europe and Foreign Affairs
  • Impulse talk from Commissioner Thierry Breton
    Karima Delli, Chair of the TRAN Committee, European Parliament
    Pedro Siza Vieira, Minister of State, Economy and Digital Transition of Portugal
    Eric Dresin, Secretary General of ECTAA, on behalf of NET
    Luis Maroto, CEO of AMADEUS IT

16h50 – 17h00

Closing words by Commissioner Thierry Breton

Cookie Notice

This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. Find out more on how we use cookies and how you can change your settings.

Back to top